11 Days Away

I am getting married in 11 days, so I decided I should try to write some prose.

I Have Always Wanted

I have always wanted to be like a redwood,
Growing everyday mentally, physically and spiritually,
With no regard for expectations or judgment,
I have always wanted to grow to be a better Me.

I have always wanted to be like Roosevelt’s “Man in the Arena”
Whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood
Never criticizing others for something I could not achieve myself, rather
Always focusing on keeping my promises and achieving my aspirations,
I have always wanted to be the truest form of Myself.

I have always wanted to be like John Galt,
Creating my own definition of success,
Determining a new and better set of ideals,
Simply because I believe them to be fundamentally good,
I have always wanted to be a creator.

I wholeheartedly realize that I am none of these things, and
I understand that I may never be as brave as a pioneer,
Strong as a warrior or as diligent as a tree, but
I do know that sharing my life with you gives me the best chance
To be the man I have always wanted to be!
 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

